Acceptance..

To me, acceptance means finding whatever pleasure I can in caring for (my child) day to day. It means looking at other children without always wishing that he were like them. It means looking at the situation not in terms of what (my child) can do for me, but what I can do to enhance his potential.

Acceptance means letting him progress at his own rate. It means being proud of him as my son and wanting others to know him. It means not deriving my own self-esteem from his developmental milestone.

True acceptance means feeling that we can be a happy family as we once hoped.

(Marcia Lepler, the mother of a child with cerebral palsy)

Leave a Reply

